Menswear: The Stalking Learning Curve

Salut!

My love affair with fashion began at the age of twelve when I started watching Fashion Television hosted by Jeanne Beker (a proud Canadian). With each week, she would educate me and fellow loyal fashion-followers globally about the ever-changing and ever-exciting world of fashion. With fashion being played on a global landscape, Fashion Television was my source of being connected to this fantasy world all the way from Canada.

I grew up watching Jeanne Beker waltz into fashion shows all over the world from Milan and London, and of course to the fashion capital of the world: Paris. Fashion was a driving force in my decision to live and study in Paris, and when I discovered Paris Fashion Week would take place during my stay, I knew I had to capitalize on this opportunity.

Paris Fashion Week Menswear Fall 2013 was scheduled to take place between January 16 until January 20; during these days, I penciled in some fashion-stalking to catch a glimpse of this world for myself. Would I be able to spot famous fashion journalists like Hilary Alexander, editors like the eccentric Anna Della Russo, or notorious bloggers like Tommy Ton?

DSC00322

Starting at l’arc de triomphe, beginning to stalk the menswear shows on the streets of the Champs-Elysees, after paying a visit to the Louis Vuitton flagship store and Laduree for their infamous macarons.

It took me a few days to find the official list of locations for the scheduled shows and I finally schemed on starting to stalk the menswear shows on Day 3 of Fashion Week. I failed miserably after walking in circles for 1.5 hours in the 1er arrondissement in -10°C weather, only to find refuge in stores (further stumbling into debt).

With the majority of A-list shows posted without addresses, I felt discouraged and didn’t think I would even make it to one menswear show. How wrong I was.

With (YSL) Saint Laurent being one of the most buzzed-about luxury houses with a new creative director, I knew stalking this show would be difficult especially with no location posted. While at my studio apartment, I stumbled upon a Twitter post by a popular blogger who revealed the show’s location. The show started at 8:00 pm. It was 8:21 pm. With no time to spare, I google-mapped the location, whipped on my coat, sprung out the door, hopped on the Metro, and within 34 minutes I arrived at the destination.

At Le Grand Palais, there hung the banners for the Saint Laurent show. What was once sight I was only able to witness through a television screen, I now could see through my own eyes. I may have arrived late – not spotting any fashion royalty – but now I feel prepared for Haute Couture Week starting today.

DSC00335

Last night, a girl’s 9-year dream came true.

Stay tuned for this week’s post when I stalk the Haute Couture shows including Chanel and Giorgio Armani Prive.

Bon soir!

Bisous,

La fausse parisienne

One thought on “Menswear: The Stalking Learning Curve

Leave a comment