Parisian Pursuits: A Documentation of My Endeavors

Bon soir!

Before arriving in Paris I developed a list of numerous landmarks and events I would aspire to accomplish during my stay in this beautiful city. I suppose one would call the following list a bucket list but I am not fond of that title for my list’s purpose. A bucket list outlines a number of goals and experiences that one hopes to accomplish in their lifetime. During my stay, I plan on visiting the listed monuments or accomplishing the documented experiences for the first time. Not the last time.

With confidence, I can affirm that my current stay in Paris marks the first of countless trips back to Paris (already depressed at the thought of leaving). Thus I reckon the following list a necessary account of an authentic Parisian experience.

On my blog’s homepage, I introduce you all to a new tab called “Parisian Pursuits” which documents the comprehensive list of accomplished and desired experiences. Since my arrival in the City of Lights three weeks ago, I have realized some of these experiences. Stalking Paris Fashion Week was included on this list and I have outlined my experiences engaging in the stalking-rampages in previous posts. Below I have enclosed another three of these fulfilled undertakings.

Parisian Pursuits: Accomplished

1) Buy something from Shakespeare & Co. that dates back no later than 1950

The original Shakespeare and Company independent bookstore originated in 1919 in Paris. This establishment was a popular hangout location for many writers in the 20’s including Ernest Hemingway and James Joyce. Currently, Shakespeare and Company is both a bookstore and reading library for literature that dates back to the early 1800’s.

DSC01052

Below is an original piece from a collection of the 1880’s Ward Lock’s Penny Shakespeare publications that I purchased. It is a slim brochure containing a different part of a play (mine is for King Richard II). Every member of society from all social classes attended Shakespeare’s plays, including the peasants/groundlings whose admission fee was a penny. This program was once owned by a peasant attendee of the original production.

photo-3

People’s Penny Shakespeare: Published in 1880

2) Go to mass every Sunday at Notre Dame

10 minutes: the time that it took me to travel two metro stops from my studio apartment to make it to mass at Notre Dame on time. It really was an amazing, once-in-a-lifetime experience and I plan on attending every Sunday. Next week I intend on attending the Gregorian mass in particular. If you don’t know anything about Gregorian masses or chants,  Youtube-it (hello harmony).

photo-4

photo-5

3) Purchase macarons from the infamous Laduree on the Champs d’Elysees

Macarons are famous French dessert treats that come in all colors and flavors. If there is any place in Paris to purchase the best macarons from, Laduree is your stop! With many locations scattered all over Paris, the Champs d’Elysees location is quite beautiful and very ornate. Each macaron was worth the entirety of its 1.75 euro pricetag!

DSC00296

DSC00284

Keep updated about my adventures on my blog!

I hope you are having a great night as I am, residing in my studio apartment on this rainy evening with some white wine accompaniment.

Bisous,

La fausse parisenne

One thought on “Parisian Pursuits: A Documentation of My Endeavors

Leave a comment